Why Selfies are Social Suicide

funny-selfie-meme

My late, great friend Gene Wilder has succinctly described my point. I am almost inclined to end this post right here. However, I have something to say, and no, it has nothing to do with games. It is something that a teacher of high school learners must put up with on a continuous basis.

I have always considered myself rather technologically proficient, but I have to ask, “WTF is with this selfie-for-social-media thing?” As if the average social media user is not bad enough – announcing his most banal activates to the world as though we give a sh**. With the exponential growth in technology, everything has become more convenient, but one aspect has become the bane of my existence: the selfie.

As if it isn’t enough that I need to know when and where Ashley just bought a Coke, or where and with whom Bruce is watching the latest Marvel movie: now I need to see a play-by-play, slideshow-style series of photos documenting every single moment.

So back to Gene Wilder. He makes a good point: we as humans are programmed to be selfish. We want to take selfies and then post them online in order to receive ‘Likes’ and feel popular. If this is a global phenomenon, then why do we get so annoyed at other people’s selfies? (Granted, there are many people who take more selfies than there are seconds in a minute. That’s just annoying). We hate others’ selfies because it detracts from our own. Just as others want to be noticed, so do you, and now you have to be in competition or share the spotlight with Ashley and her Coke. That cow.

Now that we have that cleared up, let’s discuss people like myself, who despise selfies, and hate seeing them all over the place (who takes care of North and Saint while Kim is having her boobs photographed instead of pumped??). I understand the plights of popularity and the desire to fit in, but driving people to thoughts of suicide due to selfie overload is simply not the way to do it. A multitude of selfies with a lack of status updates, links to interesting articles, or any intellectual content on your Facebook page, will continue to give people the impression that you are shallow, superficial, and hide your individuality behind a mask of photo-enhanced, overly-edited, I-know-that’s-not-what-you-really-look-like nonsense.

People, WAKE UP! When you’re in an art museum, appreciate the art, don’t take a picture – like that time I was in the Louvre and I doubt anyone saw the Mona Lisa while trying to find the best angle to snap it. When you’re in Disneyland, what is the point of seeing the parade if you’re going to miss it while looking for the perfect shot?

It’s time we put our phones down for awhile, and instead of admiring the beauty that is ‘us’, we should actually take notice of our surroundings. We may even find something we had never seen before. Hell, I only noticed I have an oak tree in my backyard today. I’ve lived here 12 years.

That’s that and I’m out.

Belinda Brock

Leave a Reply

